Psychedelic-tinged Alt Rock cosmonauts Galactic Fuzz set to release debut self-titled album

By on September 2, 2022

Psychedelic-tinged Alt Rock cosmonauts Galactic Fuzz are set to release their debut self-titled album on October 28, with several singles planned for independent release during the album rollout. Lead single “Transparent” summons the rock muse in a way only this unique trio can conjure. Galactic Fuzz‘s signature sound fuses 90’s alt grunge with melodic pop psychedelia. Their bold self-titled album takes many of it’s sonic influence from underground rock heroes like Pavement, Granddaddy, Dinosaur Jr., and Failure. 

The album’s lead single “Transparent”, out August 26, captures the trio’s fiery rock chemistry, melancholy emotionality and melodic charisma. 

Transparent blends the power and tension of Grunge with Brit Pop sensibilities. The guitar parts build up steam as the song progresses, its chord progression seamlessly goes up a semitone each time around the block, with the song’s climax being an aggressive yet melodic guitar solo after the second chorus.

Speaking on the inspiration for their upcoming self-titled album, vocalist/guitarist and songwriter Javier Guell says “I’ve always loved singing, but had mostly been a backup singer and lead guitar player in all my bands. The inception for Galactic Fuzz was my decision to sing my own songs for a change, as I had always written for others to sing. 

The name of the band comes from my fascination with Science Fiction works by the likes of Isaac Asimov, Arthur C Clarke, and Frederik Pohl, and some of our sounds and lyrics influenced by that even if not apparent at the surface. 

You can call us an Alternative Rock band but it’s an oversimplification of the truth. We all have varying influences. Our drummer Ricky comes from a school of punk bands but also plays blues and loves jam bands. Jorge grew up with Classic Rock and hard rock and metal from the 80s and 90s.”

1. Find Your Way
2. Transparent
3. Do What You Can
4. Do You Really 
5. Pyramids and Ghosts
6. Lest We Fall
7. Getting Fun 
8. She’s Got Things 

Official Website
Youtube Channel

Pre-save “Transparent” on streaming platforms.

Artist Bio:
Galactic Fuzz  is an Alternative Rock band making melodic guitar rock songs with influences ranging from Classic Rock to Grunge, Punk and Brit Pop, to name a few. The band was formed in Miami in 2019 by three longtime friends who happen to be experienced players in the independent music scene.

Javier Guell (songwriter, vocals, guitar) played with Jorge García (bass) in a Miami-based Rock in Spanish band called Soniko from 2001 until 2011. They had 2 videos in rotation as “Buzzworrhy” in MTV Español,  toured the USA, and played on Music Conferences such as SXSW and LAMC.

Ricardo Mere (drums) is Jorge’s cousin and also Javier’s friend for decades. Ricky played with Javi with solo artist Dama Vicke, a project that was showcased at the FIMPRO Guadalajara, has played several shows across the US and Mexico, was named songwriter of the year in 2018 by Miami New Times, and her songs and videos have won several awards on Conferences around the world